Skip to content

Sunday Etiquette

August 29, 2010

Kindness and courtesy needn’t always be deliberate and planned. Spontaneous kindness is an attribute of a person who already is well-mannered and courteous and whose natural instinct for courtesy is demonstrated in everything he or she does. ~~Emily Post on Etiquette

Last Sunday I posted on etiquette and actually got a great response from it! I got lots of emails, comments and messages on facebook about the post. So I am thinking maybe we should have a weekly etiquette recap from either Miss Emily Post or Miss Manners.

I grew up hearing about Miss Manners from my North Carolina grandmother. If ever there were a gentile southern woman of upstanding stock, this woman would be the prototype! She was the southern belle you have heard about that would have attended cotillions and such. I learned a lot about how to smile and be polite while in the company of unpleasantness, along with how to deliver unsavory news in as gentle a manner as possible.

I think the quote above was well demonstrated through all of my grandparents. Random acts of kindness were praised highly as to encourage more of the like. Many times it’s easy to get so caught up in the day to day of house keeping and tending family and forget about the simple things that bring smiles.

-Opening the door for others.

Gentlemen, this is important if you are courting a lady (and the courting doesn’t stop after you are married). My 7 year old has watched my husband do this for me for so long that he has been known to run around to my door to open it when my husband isn’t with us. It’s a great thing to instill in your children!

-When you pass someone on the sidewalk, in a store, etc., smile and nod or say hello.

You would be surprised at how much of a difference this little act can make to someone’s day. It also helps us to remember that we are all connected in a way. We are all a part of the human race and it’s time we started acting like it again.

-Say “please” and “thank you”, think before you speak, and always consider that what you say affects others. And most of all, there are some subjects that are just plain inappropriate to discuss.

-Women should be lady-like, polite, well-mannered, and soft spoken. Men should be slow to temper, well-mannered, and well spoken.

This does not mean that women don’t have a good brain, it simply means that we are considerate of our surroundings. Whether you are a man or a woman, there is a time to speak your mind and a time to keep your mouth shut. Watch how you say something just as much as you watch what you say. You may have a valid point to make, but if you are making it using “ain’t” and double negatives, you still don’t sound very intelligent.

By all means, teach your children from an early age!

If there is an etiquette topic you would like to discuss or even hear more about, please leave a comment and let me know what it is. I hope you all have a beautiful Sunday!

I am linking up with Chari at Sunday Favorites

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 1:52 pm

    Great post! I agree it’s often these simple little acts that make other take notice and appreciate your kindness. ~ Sarah

    • August 29, 2010 4:44 pm

      Amen to that! I love to think that we can make such an impact just by being considerate of each other!

  2. August 29, 2010 6:19 pm

    This is a great post! I know it makes my day when someone opens a door or remembers to be polite. It’s so cute that your 7-year-old opens your door! Visiting from Sunday Favorites.

  3. August 30, 2010 9:36 am

    Hello my friend…

    Ohhh…I think it’s a lovely idea to do a weekly “ettiquette” recap, my friend! I, for one, am very interested!!! As I mentioned last week in my note to you…I fear that good manners may be quickly becoming a thing of the past! Such a GRAND idea…keep up the good work, dear lady!

    I loved this quote about…”spontaneous kindness”! I would like to think that I often show spontaneous kindness! In fact, I think I passed each and every lesson that you talked about today! Hehe! Ohhh…and when I first met my husband (nearly 10 years ago)…I was sooo very impressed that he always opened my car door…as well as every door that I was to walk through. He still does this for me! It just makes me feel special! Hmmm…special…I think that is what “spontaneous kindness” does…make people feel special and I love that!!! Thank you soooo much for sharing this wonderful post with us for Sunday Favorites this week, my friend…I really enjoyed it!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

  4. sticker line vpn permalink
    September 29, 2014 7:57 am

    Usually I don’t learn post oon blogs, however I wish to say
    that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

Leave a Reply

