Skip to content

Let’s Talk About Quilts, Baby!

August 27, 2010

I have to start this post out by saying, if I go on rambling a lot and jump subjects, please excuse me. I have been sick (really sick) for two days now and have been relying on blogs, Donna Reed on Hulu, and Super Sudafed to get me through!

So in the spirit of comfort items, I thought quilts would make the perfect subject! Although I never had the chance to learn from them, the women in past generations of my family were amazing quilters. Big Mama Puckett (I know, only in the south right?? She really wasn’t “big”) was, as I am told, a fabulous seamstress. She could mix sleeve and skirt styles, make her own patterns, custom tailor all her girls’ clothing, and make beautiful quilts. Here is one that she made. It has been laid across my grandmother’s hope chest all my life, and probably most of hers.

This quilt is old and thread bare in places, but it reminds me of the women who worked hard to take care of their families and it makes me happy.

The next quilt is one that my Memaw (dad’s mother) made for me when I was a baby. I am hoping that one day I might have a granddaughter to give this to!

So in the fine tradition of these wonderful women, I am making quilts for the babies. Since the two youngest will end up sharing a room, I wanted them to have coordinating bedding without having to spend an arm and a leg. So when I was at the craft store I found these materials and snatched them up!

These quilts for the babies are going to make great Christmas presents for them! And speaking of presents, here is one more quilted item that all three of my boys will be getting on Christmas morning. (And yes, I know it’s early to be talking about Christmas, but if you are frugal shoppers, as we are, you start your shopping right after Christmas for next year!) I found some adorable Peanuts material on sale after Christmas last year and couldn’t resist getting it to make stockings for the boys. Here is what they look like so far. When they are finished, each will have a different colored cuff and their embroidered initial!

I hope everyone has a terrific weekend! I’m going back to my Donna Reed and Tissues, maybe even curl up under one of my special quilts, and enjoy the goodies my mama brought me yesterday!

I am linking up with Cindy for Show and Tell Friday, Debbiedoos Garage Sale ‘n Party, and Vignette Fridays.

Finding Beauty Friday

I’m Tickled Pink at 504 Main

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 11:18 am

    All wonderful and super sweet pieces….fortunate indeed!! Hugs from St. Louis!
    machelle

    • August 29, 2010 4:27 pm

      Thank you so much! So nice to be able to meet and “socialize” people from so many different places! Hugs from Atlanta!

  2. August 27, 2010 11:41 am

    How cute! Love quilts. They are so comforting. Thanks for sharing.

  3. August 27, 2010 1:03 pm

    Oh, I just love old quilts, they are always so soft and comfy! Feel Better!

    Donna

  4. August 27, 2010 1:53 pm

    Hi Brandy! Those are adorable….I see all the details in the kitty quilt, and the monkey one is so cute! I love the Peanuts too, that is a great little stocking. Hope you feel better soon. I have been sneezing all day, I am hoping it is just allergies. Thanks for joining in. Debbie

    • August 29, 2010 4:32 pm

      Thanks Debbie, the allergies are running a-muck in my house! Hope yours is only allergies too! Thanks for hosting the blog party!

  5. August 27, 2010 10:52 pm

    Love the quilts. I think it’s wonderful that you are carrying on the tradition.
    The monkeys are just too cute!

  6. August 28, 2010 5:11 am

    Hi, I’m visiting from Debbie’s Garage Salen Party. Those are wonderful quilts. I especially like your one from Memaw, with all the tiny quilting stitches and the adorable kittens. But I also love how in 2010 it’s time for monkeys! Quilts never go out of style.

    • August 29, 2010 4:34 pm

      Haha, you are right about that! They definitely never go out of style. I am a sucker for all kinds of monkeys. I even have a sock monkey collection!

  7. August 28, 2010 12:22 pm

    Loved seeing the quilts. They are beautiful and those you give away are the most treasured.

  8. August 28, 2010 9:13 pm

    Hey girl. I hope that you are feeling better espeically all wrapped up in grandma’s love.
    I wish we had quilters in my family. I’m going to start on a patch work one this fall and hope to have it done by my daycare’s Christmas party. Found you from fresh, clean and pure blog hop.
    Take care and have a blessed weekend.

    • August 29, 2010 4:36 pm

      So glad you got to stop by! Grandma’s love is most definitely helping me to feel better! Good luck to you in your endeavor and let me know if you need any help or pointers!

  9. August 30, 2010 11:46 am

    I love quilts, I just received three that my great grandmother made, they are so beautiful and all hand stitched. I just sit and stare at the perfectly spaced stitching and smile!

  10. September 2, 2010 4:02 pm

    Thanks for inking up! I just adore quilts – they are an amazing art form!

Leave a Reply

