Skip to content

A Salutation of Courtesy

August 22, 2010

The reputation of Southern women for having the gift of fascination is perhaps due not to prettiness of feature more than to the brilliancy or sweetness of their ready smile. That Southern women are charming and “feminine” and lovable is proverbial. How many have noticed that Southern women always bow with the grace of a flower bending in the breeze and a smile like sudden sunshine? The unlovely woman bows as though her head were on a hinge and her smile sucked through a lemon.
Nothing is so easy for any woman to acquire as a charming bow. It is such a short and fleeting duty. Not a bit of trouble really; just to incline your head and spontaneously smile as though you thought “Why, there is Mrs. Smith! How glad I am to see her!”
Even to a stranger who does her a favor, a woman of charm always smiles as she says “Thank you!” As a possession for either woman or man, a ready smile is more valuable in life than a ready wit; the latter may sometimes bring enemies, but the former always brings friends.

~From Emily Post, 1922

I love reading about etiquette, both in years gone by and rules for today’s society. I don’t really believe that proper etiquette changes in the least, only whether people choose to use it. Some etiquette rules aren’t life changing, such as no white shoes past Labor Day, don’t put out anything Christmas related until Thanksgiving is over. New rules have even been added as new traditions have been introduced, but I think it’s all a part of smoothing out the rough edges. I should do a post on cell phone etiquette!

I once mentioned etiquette to a friend who thought it was only for the “uppity” people. On the contrary, etiquette provides us with a general guideline to making everyday life more gentle and beautiful.

Some things like the white and black rules (as in seasonal clothing) don’t really change our lives, but others like getting a hand written invitation as opposed to an email make us feel special. Atleast it makes me feel special! Being considerate of others’ feelings also makes people feel special. What do you think?

I am linking up with Chari at Sunday Favorites

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 5:30 pm

    Hi Brandy…

    Welcome to Sunday Favorites, my friend! I’ts such a pleasure to have you join in with our weekly Sunday party! Ohhh…and what a GRAND post to reshare with all of us! I love, love, LOVE the topic of etiquette! I really am beginning to think that etiquette is an “art form” of the past…which makes me so sad! I totally agree with you…etiquette inspires a more pleasant and gentle world! Thank you so much for posting about this topic today…I’m with you…I think it’s important and just good manners!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

    PS…I do hope that you will join us again, my friend! This was such a treat!!!

Leave a Reply

