Skip to content

Tried and True Thursday

August 19, 2010

Okay ladies (and gentlemen, since I know my husband peeks from time to time), I have been looking for a Thursday blog to link up with. So far I have Mellow Yellow Mondays, Movie Star Mondays, Tabletop Tuesdays, and Show and Tell Fridays.

Since I am having very little luck at the moment with finding a Thursday blog group, I will try and start my own! So here it is, Tried and True Thursday. This title could really cover anything you wanted such as recipes, patterns, paint techniques, etc.

Last night I baked a lemon glazed lemon cake. The texture and density is very much like a poundcake, but not quite as rich. This goes perfectly with tea or coffee in the evening or, as Lady M found out this morning, could be used as a breakfast cake. I know you aren’t supposed to eat cake for breakfast, but we took our tip from Marie Antoinette!

I also wanted to mention that, in honor of my boys, I had to bring out the Paddington Bear cake plate that was used for one of my first birthday cakes. My mom loved Paddington Bear and passed that down to me as well. For years she even had a Paddington stuffed bear sitting in a chair in her bedroom. I don’t know whatever happened to him, but I would love to find another one someday. I would probably give my mom the first dibs on him as she was the one who introduce me to Paddington. I wouldn’t mind finding a book for the boys either!

So here is the cake:

The recipe is very simple

1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
4 eggs
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2 cups all purpose flour

Glaze:
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1 cup confectioners sugar

Mix the butter and sugar together in your mixer and then add the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla and lemon juice and the zest of 1 lemon.

Once the wet ingredients are all incorporated, mix together the dry ingredients and slowly add to the wet mixture. Pour the batter in your pan and bake at 350 for 40-45 minutes.

This recipe came from the Joy of Baking website.
Lemon Frosted Lemon Cake

Click below if you would like to link up to this page.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 10:29 am

    I do miss baking! 😦 That cake looks great and the texture does look perfect, maybe you should send this poor pregnant lady a piece to test for you? :))

    • August 22, 2010 2:46 pm

      Haha, Thanks Sena! It is too bad you can’t join us, we certainly don’t need to be eating everything I have been baking, as for the pregnancy I am feeling your pain! I am 23 weeks with #3!

Leave a Reply

