Skip to content

A Vintage Family

August 19, 2010

Lately my husband has been teasing me about all the cooking, cleaning, laying out clothes, painting, quilting, etc. His big joke is that I am competing for housewife of the year. Well, we can’t all be June Cleaver, but I can darn sure try!

One of my few guilty pleasures during the day is getting to sit down at lunch time and turn on the retro channel to watch Leave it to Beaver. Even my 7 year old loves this show! I have always been a fan of Black and Whites (I truly miss having AMC and TCM with cable) and usually would have to sit and watch by myself. I just love how families sat down together and talked together. I love how parents instilled values in their children. I love how mom took care of dad and dad treated mom like she was so precious to him!

June Cleaver was such an iconic figure, along with others like Donna Read. The characters were probably very much the norm for that time period, though in today’s society are often a daunting reminder of what we don’t have time for or forgot to do. The biggest thing I have learned is that if you do a little bit all day long, more actually gets done. For those who have trouble getting started, you can find great ideas and tips from such sites as The Fly Lady. My mom and I used this system a few years back to get organized and it was amazing.
A great book that I picked up several years ago is Simplify Your Life by Marcia Ramsland. I used both while being a single mom, working part time, and full time college student. Now that I am a stay at home mom, I wonder how I had the time for cleaning, cooking, and everything else.

The biggest reward comes when your house is consistently in order, it leaves more time for playing with those sweet babies!

So this morning, I dressed a little nicer than normal, donned my pearls, curls, and a smile, and embarked on the day. This is my homage to June Cleaver and all the other vintage housewives out there! I must say that the extra touches I have tried to implement in my home have made a difference in how I feel about being a housewife and homemaker and also in my family’s appreciation for being home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Gates permalink
    August 19, 2010 9:05 pm

    Just when I begin to grow weary in well doing, your blog comes along to encourage me! Thankful & inspired!!

    • August 21, 2010 7:31 am

      You are so sweet! Thank you for that! We really should schedule a housewife/mom weekend (aside from the camping week) so that we can refresh and recharge as wives and mothers!

  2. Carla permalink
    August 20, 2010 6:23 am

    Aw, so cute! Love hearing you so happy! And you guys are setting such amazing examples for your kids! If I’m ever a mom one day, I hope I can do it as well as you!

    • August 21, 2010 7:30 am

      Thanks sweetie, we fail sometimes, but we just get up and try to keep on going and do it better next time. God is the only reason we can do anything right =)

Leave a Reply

