Skip to content

But Why?

March 1, 2010

I was talking with my husband last night on the way to meet up with some friends to head to IHOP. We were discussing my recent blogs and the reason behind making them public.

As I have stated before, I have purposed to add various readings and studies to each day. I am human and very obviously not perfect. I am definitely a work in progress! With that being said, I have always been told to keep a prayer journal. Unfortunately I sit down to journal my prayer times and am stuck with “I sat down, I prayed”.

So a last week I thought, why not write about what God was showing me? Even though we often feel that we are the only ones with this or that problem, the reality is that many of us are struggling with the same things. The problem is that sometimes pride keeps us from being open and admitting that we struggle. I know that I have struggled with it in the past.

So here it is all laid out and I hope that if you relate, that you will send me some sort of message and share with me your walk. Many times we can help each other in fellowship. I myself am blessed to be surrounded with some incredible believers that aren’t afraid to hold me accountable and love me through it.

In keeping with this, I want to share some of what happened to me at IHOP last night. As soon as we walked in the door, you could feel that the spirit of God was there and His anointing! At first I was nervous. Not because I had never encountered the presence of God, in fact it was the opposite. I had encountered it before and it took me back to a time when I would walk into the church in Hattiesburg.

Now, I will tell you, there is a very good thing about being in a charismatic church. Everyone is so caught up in the spirit that they aren’t worried about looking foolish much less whether or not you look foolish worshiping. It was an incredible opportunity to receive prayer and to offer up myself and let go of my pride.

I sincerely want to offer myself as a vessel for whatever God chooses for me to do. I found a great song that I want to share as my closing thought. It’s called Holy Obsession. This is what I ask and seek.

Holy Obsession
By Joel Bidderman © 2006 Joel A. Bidderman/ASCAP
You are my holy obsession;
You are my burning desire.
You are the stream my soul longs for;
You are a consuming fire

Pre Chorus:
At night Your song is with me
A prayer to the God of my life
Daytime & nighttime falls at the feet of
You who reigns, Holy One on High

Chorus:
One thing I ask
One thing I seek
To gaze upon the beauty of the Lord
All the days of my life

In the morning I cling to Your mercy
I declare Your love in the day
Twilight breathes of Your mystery
(At night) Your faithfulness I proclaim

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

